Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
I think "America" is typically thought of as the fifty states plus DC.  Puerto Rico sits somewhere between statehood and independence.  I'm guessing they're allowed to vote in presidential elections, because Puerto Rico voting in the Democratic primaries -- they had asked that the Dean campaign produce "Puerto Ricans for Dean" signs; that's why I remember, but I don't think the GOP has a primary there; the Dems support statehood, I believe -- but they have no senators or congressmen, obviously.  (Neither does Washington, DC.  DC has, at best, a semi-independent local government, but the budget is controlled by Congress.)  They have "delegates" to Congress.  I expect that the country will probably swing toward statehood, eventually.

I don't think Puerto Rico is typically thought of as part of America, though it has just as much claim to being included in my definition as Washington.

Everything else is Canada, Central America, the Northwest Territory, or South America (Central and South America being "Latin America" in everyday discussion here in the states).

I'm not sure how we can define Europe, so I chose "All of the Above".

Be nice to America. Or we'll bring democracy to your country.

by Drew J Jones (pedobear@pennstatefootball.com) on Tue Feb 14th, 2006 at 10:54:47 AM EST
[ Parent ]

Others have rated this comment as follows:


Occasional Series