Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
Apparently not:
The whole of the island is considered to be part of the EU. However, in the northern part of the island, in the areas in which the Government of Cyprus does not exercise effective control, EU legislation is suspended in line with Protocol 10 of the Accession Treaty 2003. This means for example that these areas are outside the customs and fiscal territory of the EU. However, the suspension does not affect the personal rights of Turkish Cypriots as EU citizens. They are citizens of a Member State, the Republic of Cyprus, even though they may live in the areas not under government control.
by Gag Halfrunt on Tue Feb 26th, 2008 at 10:23:31 AM EST
[ Parent ]

Others have rated this comment as follows:


Occasional Series