Welcome to European Tribune. It's gone a bit quiet around here these days, but it's still going.
Boris Johnson suffers another defeat as government motion for a mini recess next week is lost by 306 votes to 289
-  Politics live with Andrew Sparrow, Guardian

How the 21 Tories who lost whip over Brexit voted on conference recess

The government motion saying the conference recess should go ahead next week was backed by 275 Conservative MPs, nine DUP MPs and five independents. Three of them were Tories who lost the whip after rebelling over Brexit earlier this month (Steve Brine, Greg Clark and Caroline Nokes), another was the Tory Charlie Elphicke, who is suspended over a court case, and the other was the former Labour MP Ian Austin.

Fifteen independent MPs joined the opposition parties and voted against the government. They included seven of the 21 Tories who had the whip withdrawn over Brexit earlier this month: Guto Bebb, Ken Clarke, David Gauke, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve, Anne Milton and Antoinette Sandbach. Another was Amber Rudd, who resigned the whip herself in solidarity with the 21.

Another 10 of the 21 who lost the whip did not vote. They were Richard Benyon, Alistair Burt, Philip Hammond, Stephen Hammond, Richard Harrington, Margot James, Sir Oliver Letwin, Sir Nicholas Soames, Rory Stewart and Ed Vaizey.

The other member the group of 21 rebels was Sam Gyimah. He is now a Liberal Democrat, and voted against the motion with his new party.

Politics live with Andrew Sparrow, Guardian

"It is not necessary to have hope in order to persevere."
by ARGeezer (ARGeezer a in a circle eurotrib daught com) on Thu Sep 26th, 2019 at 06:47:37 PM EST

Others have rated this comment as follows:


Occasional Series